• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

SO SCARED! Anyone willing to give advice or words of encouragement?

S

sunshine88

Hello everyone! I am so glad that I found this site. I can’t tell you how great it is to find a place where I can share my fears and be understood.

I am getting my wisdom teeth removed on July 23 with IV Sedation. I have been putting this off for at least 5 years. I will be 25 at the time of extraction. They aren’t hurting me, but they have slightly pushed my teeth out of place. My dentist also reminds me every time I have a cleaning that they really need to come out before they start causing big problems.I have finally worked up the courage to setup an appointment. I did not want to do IV sedation as that just adds to my nervousness, but my oral surgeon highly suggested that I do it due to my nervousness and the direction they are growing. I am quite the worrier, and since they aren’t hurting me at all/ haven’t caused anyproblems except slightly pushing my teeth out of place, it is taking everything I have in me not to cancel the appointment.