• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Got a crown, so sad :(

T

TeethGuy

This is the second time I'm writing this since when I was working on this on my phone my battery died, so I'm on my PC. I had braces for 3 years and got them off around 2012 - 2013. At some point later on I got a root canal, and now fast forward to more recently my dentist was recommending a crown for the tooth. I'm no dental expert, and this happened during my routine cleaning so the crowning was scheduled. The tooth in question was a grayish color whereas my other teeth are white, but this difference was not really noticeable unless you really looked for it. Now, I was feeling a bit anxious about getting the nova-cane shot for some reason. Eventually the day came for my appointment. That morning, I really didn't feel like going anywhere. I looked up if I need this surgery, and I found people saying you shouldn't get a crown. I looked into it, but it seemed to be lots of people saying "NO DON'T!" and at the end telling you to come and buy something from them, visit their dentist office so it can be done right, etc. Just trying to make a sale after catching my attention. I figured I would get the surgery, it would be fine I figured. I ended up staying up too late that day, and went to sleep an hour before my appointment time, and ended up missing my appointment (not for a lack of trying, once I realized I only had about 15 minutes until my appointment I rushed to get ready, what happened was I didn't actually plan on this all happening this way, I fell asleep). Anyway, I got the appointment rescheduled. I went and got the surgery done and it was no big deal. Over the next day or so however, I noticed that this temporary crown h