• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Gum disease - completely terrifed

K

KatherineS

Hello!

I'm new to this forum and just wanted to get some advice/comfort.
I am 21 years old and have always been scared of the dentist since I remember. I've had some bad experiences with not very nice dentists and that had put me off. Once as I needed to start paying for the dentist, I began avoiding it terribly. I only ever visited 3 times for wisdom tooth problems and only because it was unbearably. About 1 year ago, I had to have a wisdom tooth removed and this was awfully terrifying. Since then, I have avoided the dentist and refused to go.
However, today I decided to face my fears and go to the dentist. I regret this decision since.
I was told that I have pretty bad gum disease and this has absolutely terrified me. I have an awful fear of losing my teeth as well and am now so worried about this. I also have to have another cleaning (the dentist tried to clean more today but it was so painful she couldn't complete) which means I have to go back next week and I also have to see a hygienist.
I have always cleaned my teeth twice a day, flossed and used mouthwash. I'm so upset and scared about all of this.