• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

I have an abscessed tooth. Really nervous!

1398_Days

I have a tooth that I'm almost certain is dead/dying. I had some pain in the tooth a few weeks ago, but it was fairly short lived. Since then it seems like I'm slowly losing all feeling in that tooth. So I've had very little pain in the tooth itself, but I noticed that my gums (right above the tooth) hurt when I press on them and they feel swollen. I kept looking in the mirror and couldn't see anything since the tooth is way in the back. But the other day I finally saw it: a bright red spot on my gums with what looks to be a small abscess in the middle.

I'm not sure what's going to happen.. will I need a root canal or an extraction? I'm leaning towards extraction because this tooth has been in bad shape for years. But I'm really nervous. One of the things I'm most nervous about is antibiotics. Long story short, I have lots of anxiety in regards to antibiotics and will do whatever I can do avoid taking them. But an extraction is likely what's going to happen, in which case I probably won't need antibiotics, right? Either way, I could really use some support. I'm trying to put off going to the dentist as long as possible.. which probably isn't wise if there's an infection. But yeah.. any support/advice would be appreciated!