• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

I just don't get numb

P

PRW

Hi, I'm glad I found this forum through a Google search. I have a dental appointment to get a broken filling repaired the day after tomorrow, and as usual I'm dreading the dental chair like a condemned man would dread the gallows.

The problem is that local anesthesia simply doesn't get my teeth ... any of my teeth, upper or lower ... completely numb anymore. And the problem seems to get worse as I get older. I didn't have this problem when I was younger, but I'm pushing 50 now and it seems like every time I have to undergo it, local anesthesia works with less and less effectiveness.

My dentist, who I've been using for nearly 30 years, understands my problems here and has gone out of his way to work with me. He'll give the anesthesia time to take effect before working on me. He'll give me another shot or two if it takes it. He'll do the deal where he injects right into the area behind the tooth in question. He's also used a stronger, longer-lasting anesthetic on me. But nothing gets my teeth totally numb to where I don't eventually feel the electric jolt of pain when he drills.

I've tried not to be a "clincher" in the chair, I've tried my best to take deep breaths and relax and not be nervous, but when the electric jolt happens as it always does, I end up going to pieces and gripping the chair with a death grip and I usually come out of the dentist's office bathed in sweat.