• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

My IV sedation success story - I was a Chicken!

S

ScaredCop

I extensively read this forum during the days before my wisdom teeth extraction. I work in law enforcement and my dental chair phobia stems from losing control in a situation. It's a common thing with law enforcement, military, and people who are used to controlling situations. My oral surgeon said cops were in his top 3 of worst patients.

After my extractions, I felt the need to give back my story as a repayment of what comfort this site gave to me. I was flat out the most scared I have ever been in my life going into that chair. I've been in plenty of dangerous situations, but this scared me more than anything I have ever done. :scared:

I agonized for weeks about the procedure and only slept 3 hours the night before my appointment. I one point in the night, I almost dry heaved into the toilet from nerves. I was scared of giving up control and specifically scared of IV sedation. For some reason the very thought to was tantamount to dying. I assumed I would wake up vomiting gauze pads and blood.

Boy, was I WRONG :thumbsup:

IV sedation and getting my wisdom teeth out was the single best dental experience of my life. ;)

Operation Yank Wisdoms came off surprisingly successful. Here's how it went down:

Entered the operation suite and sat down in the chair at 1:20 PM.

I asked the Doc a bunch really silly questions because I was petrified with fear. He was a kindhearted soul who chuckled at my questions, but answered all of them with the same seriousness with which I asked them. The chuckles actualyl relaxed me.