• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Partial Dentures and speech.

M

Melissamoore

Hi

I am new to this form, so if this has been asked a gazzilion times feel free to post the links and Ill have a read.

I had to have a molar removed years ago and then another and another . The one molar was next to my eye tooth and when I smile it looks terrible and I know that people judge people with missing teeth . As the years have gone by I have developed a habit of clenching my teeth and sometimes get a click in my jaw. Any hoo , I went to the dentist about 4 weeks ago and had partial dentures made for my upper 3 missing teeth and one for my below 2 missing teeth . The bottom partial is a disaster and I am only wearing them a couple of hours a day and not when I eat . The tip dentures are way better and I can eat with them in but obviously very slowly . I have only had them in full time since last week Wednesday so only for 3 days and the end of today will be 4 days . My reasons for getting them were because I am vain so hated the look of the gap but also to see if it would help with my clenching and the fact that i have a bridge on my front tooth that is getting worn down due to clenching and rubbing my bottom tooth on the underside of the bridge.

My question is this , will I ever be able to speak clearly again ? The people that I work with have said they hadn't noticed a difference and one woman said she only notices a slight difference but only because I have mentioned it to her .

I feel like my confidence has taken a knock and its giving me serious anxiety . Any advise is welcome :)