• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Too embarrassed to go to dentist, but I really need to go

J

Jaybaum

Hello! I’m a 22 year old male and I haven’t been to the dentist in 8 years. I’ve had some pretty scary experiences at a young age and have always hated going, even for a teeth cleaning. I remember experiences of having teeth pulled, large needles put in my mouth, sharp pain from dentist tools, etc. I’ve also always hated brushing my teeth because the after taste makes me want to throw up. I’m at the point now where I have 2 rotten molars, pretty large tartar build up, and teeth so sensitive I can’t put pressure on one side of my mouth without this numbing pain in my jar that lasts 20+ minutes and basically incapacitates me and also an area of my gums are so sensitive to the touch.

I’m so incredibly embarrassed to go to the dentist. Even sitting here writing online is a huge embarrassment to me. How do I build the courage to go? I’m afraid the dentist or dentists assistants will criticize me for my lack or oral hygiene. I NEED to go to the dentists but I can’t find the courage to do so. How do I get over this? It’s so crippling to my life that it’s an everyday thought. I feel like I’m waiting for something so catastrophic to happen to my teeth that I have no other choice. Please help me.

Welcome on the forum.
I think one first thing to try is to reach out to dentist offices around you. Depending on your level of comfort this could be by email, by telephone or an in-person visit. The idea is for you to evaluate if you feel comfortable with the office and if you want to move further with them.