• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

finally found a dentist but...

N

nc0402

Long time forum lurker, but newbie poster! Wanted to get some other people's opinions about this.

So I'm a 26 y/o female who hasn't been to the dentist since 2012. My oral hygiene was mediocre growing up (had a couple fillings). I've gotten a lot better, but without regular dental work, it all seems like a losing battle. I'm mostly concerned with my bottom front four teeth (a lot of build up behind them) and my bottom gums (the recession is freaking me out).

Anyway, after years of putting it off because of anxiety and then being a broke college student, I'm finally ready to get my mouth taken care of. After a lot of researching, I finally found a dentist near me (with sedation option, though idk if I'll need it) that I feel comfortable with. The problem is my dental insurance through my job is super crappy and has limited options and I don't think this practice takes my insurance:(

It's really important to me that I go to a dentist I feel comfortable with, and I didn't see any in my limited pool of options that my insurance company listed.

So my question is: do I go to one of the insurance covered dentists that I don't really trust or do I go to the one that I like and use payment plan to pay out of pocket? I have been saving up a little bit of money and I my job pays well enough that I think I could manage with a payment plan. If anyone has any suggestions, that'd be appreciated!