• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

First Tooth Abscess and Now an extraction??

F

Freakin13

Soo... hi there. New here. Dental phobe since 1985. Just went in for my first dental visit in 5 years and I have an abscessed tooth and the option of a root canal or an extraction.
Since it is the last top right molar I am leaning towards an extraction since it seems like it would be a little easier than a root canal? Sounds kind of odd but I just want to be in that chair for as little time as possible.
This is a new dentist and I wanted to explain all my issues to her but was too embarrassed to. She did sense I was a little uneasy though and gave me a prescription for a sedative to take a half an hour before hand and then give me the gas.
I'm a little wary of taking pills but am thinking that would actually be best. A little more sketchy about it since the past 2 antibiotics they have given me for the abscess part I have had an allergic reaction to.
So... can someone tell me what the best choice is? Root canal or extraction? And what did either of those feel like? And how scary was it? lol
All info and advice is greatly appreciated!!

A root canal without complications will get you quite a few more years with the tooth in place. The procedure itself isn't too bad - you shouldn't feel a thing, but you are in the chair for a while as it takes time to get the roots out of the tooth. If you can handle a filling, you'll probably be okay with a root canal. There is a poster to this forum, his name is Robotguy - he just had a root canal if I'm not mistaken, and he details his experience in his journal. Look through the journal section and find his, if you'd like.