• Dental Phobia Support

Welcome! This is an online support group for anyone who is has a severe fear of the dentist or dental treatment. Please note that this is NOT a general dental problems or health anxiety forum! You can find a list of them here.

Register now to access all the features of the forum.

Crown fell off after 8 hours!

W

Weaselpie

It's currently 3.25 am and I have spent the past hour sat in the garden howling at the moon! The past two covid years have taken their toll and my health anxiety is out of control. I am a self-employed artist so you can imagine what lockdowns and restrictions have done to my income!! Just a week before the first lockdown a crown placed on a molar tooth 10 months previously fell off and had to be stuck back on. I haven't been able to afford to see my dentists since (private), and, because of the health anxiety have been putting it off anyway. Finally went a few weeks ago as I knew an old root canalled molar tooth was cracked. Dentist confident he could repair with a crown. I spent 2 weeks with a temp filling while he went on holiday and had the crown placed today. We agreed on a temporary fitting because I apparently now have an open bite due to previous NHS butchery and this needs to be adressed before final fitting. However, I wasn't prepared for the thing to fall off within 8 hours!!!! I had expressly told dentist that I need something that will be reliable for at least a month as I have an important teaching opportunity at the beginning of March and can't afford to be stressing about my teeth when I should be teaching students how to sculpt. What has just happened has confirmed my worst fears and now I don't trust ANY of the restorations this guy has placed on my teeth. I am back to a diet of porridge and smoothies and I just can't hack this crap any more!!! I wish I had just let my old NHS dentist pull out the teeth 3 years ago, but I was/am terrified of having big molar teeth extracted. I am at my wits end - sleep